Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Cross Country

Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: Athletics > breadcrumbs: Cross Country >


Ajax Loading Image


Jaguars compete at Twin Lakes Conference Cross Country meet in Emmetsburg


Print Version

The Southeast Valley cross country teams brought their best to Emmetsburg for the Twin Lakes Conference meet Saturday morning, October 19th.  Out of the 31 high school runners that competed, twenty-six ran all-time bests and another five runners ran their season best. The varsity boys finished 7th overall, the varsity girls finished 8th and the JV boys were conference champions.

Sophomore Zach Thompson was the lead Jaguar finishing 23rd overall with a time of 18:25 followed by freshman Cooper Nuss who finished 21st in 18:33.  Sophomores Wyatt Sprecher (32nd, 18:43), Asa Haub (37th, 18:57) and Caleb Kaltschnee (38th, 18:59) rounded out the five scorers for the varsity. Blake Peterson (42nd, 19:06) and Robert Jepsen (47th, 19:12) were the displacement scorers.  The Jaguars scored 156 points overall. Sioux Central was the conference champions with 26 points and Pocahontas was runner-up with 84 points.

The varsity girls were led by sophomore Madison Doyle (32nd, 22:32).  Juniors Morgan Farnham (39th, 23:24), Emily Hemmestad (41st, 23:54) and Marlie Johnson (42nd, 24:02).  Sophomore Jayden Gardipee (46th, 24:47) was the final scorer for SV. Displacement runners Kylie Weiland (53rd, 27:24) and Viatris Scott (55th, 27:59) helped the Jaguars in scoring 189 points.  Team conference champions were Manson Northwest Webster who scored 42 points, edging out Emmetsburg who scored 58 points.

The JV boys scored 38 points enroute to their conference title behind four top ten runners.  Carson Suchan finished 4th overall in a time of 18:58, followed by freshman Kyle Johnson (6th, 20:32), seniors Ross Halligan (7th, 20:39) and Nolan Jackson (8th, 20:43) and another freshman Gage Erickson (13th, 21:00).  Manson NW was second with 51 points.

Also competing in the JV boys race were Ty Klatt (16th, 21:47), Jacob Snyder (17th, 21:53), Parker Johnson (19th, 22:01), Sam Sytsma (23rd, 22:47), Jamie Dalley (26th, 25:47), AJ Smith (27th, 25:54), Zane Geis (28th, 26:31) and Logan Stapp (30th, 29:29).

The JV girls did not have the five required girls to earn a team score.  Freshman Lauren Tidman (14th, 26:53), sophomore Shelby Mills (16th, 28:12) and seniors Taegan Long (17th, 28:31) and Christine Housken (19th, 30:21) competed in the high school JV race.

Congratulations to the junior high teams as well.  The junior high boys won their 2nd consecutive Twin Lakes conference championship while the junior high girls finished 5th.  The varsity cross country teams will compete in the class 2A state qualifying meet this Thursday, October 24th in Dike. The top 3 teams and 15 individuals will qualify for the state meet in Fort Dodge on Saturday November 2nd.  This was the conclusion of the season for the JV and junior high teams.    

TLC Meet Results

Back To Top