Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: Activities > breadcrumbs: FFA >


Ajax Loading Image


FFA Awards Night Held

Print Version

The Central Plains FFA Pork Loin Supper and Awards Night was held on Tuesday, March 27th in the high school commons. 

On the menu was pork medallions, cheesy potatoes, assorted salads, roll, and drink all catered by Lidderdale Country Store.  A variety of desserts were provided by the officer parents.

Steve Johnson has served as the Farm & Ag Business Management Field Specialist for Iowa State University Extension since 1999. Steve presents at over 100 meetings focused on crop risk management annually across several Midwestern states with over 10,000 farmers and agribusiness professionals in attendance.

He served as president of the Pleasantville FFA Chapter, as did both of his brothers. After graduating from ISU in Ag Education, he taught high school Ag in Mount Ayr until returning to ISU to finish his master’s degree in Ag Ed and Ag Economics.

Steve remains an active FFA alumni member at the chapter, state and national levels.


Ms. Tessa Berg served as mc of the award session.  Mr. Kehoe discussed the accomplishments of the chapter and recognized members who have been involved in FFA activities throughout the past year.  Tessa Berg and Noah Jepsen will be receiving their Iowa FFA Degrees at the 90th State Leadership Conference.  Mr. Kirk Johnson and Mr. Brian Lane of Security Savings Bank were present to recognize the Iowa Degree recipients and provide them with a plaque and a $250.00 scholarship.

The officer team announced the local chapter “Star” Awards.   The “Star Greenhand” Award went to Margaret Anderlik from Dayton, Iowa.  Maggie is the daughter of Tim and Melinda Anderlik.  Tessa Berg, the daughter of Randall and Karla Berg was named Star Chapter Farmer.  Noah Jepsen, the son of Troy and Angie Jepsen was awarded Star Agribusiness of the chapter.  The chapter honored

Mrs. Aimee Jackson and Mrs. Kristi Peacock were elected by the chapter to receive the Honorary Chapter Degree.  Honorary membership is bestowed upon farmers, school administration, board of education, chapter advisors, teachers, staff members in agricultural education, business people, and others who are heling to advance agricultural education and the FFA and who have rendered outstanding service, may be elected to honorary membership by a majority vote of the members present at any regular meeting or convention.

The top three students in the fundraising sales (fruit and butter braids) were Ben Carlson, Noah Jepsen, and Morgan Castenson (respectively).  All three were recognized and awarded for their efforts. 

The chapter was notified by the Iowa FFA Association that three students would be recognized at the state leadership conference in the proficiency award ceremony.  Benjamin Carlson won his proficiency award area in Diversified Ag. Production.   Morgan Castenson was runner-up in Diversified Horticulture and Joel Lambert was runner-up in Fiber and Oil Crop Production.  Both individuals will be recognized on stage too.   The chapter was also notified that it would be recognized with an Agriculture Ambassador Award for its support of the Iowa FFA Foundation.

Each year, over 5,000 FFA members and guests from across the state gather to learn about careers in the agriculture industry, compete for scholarships, volunteer in the community and shape the future of the Iowa FFA Association. The 90th Iowa FFA Leadership Conference will take place in Ames, Iowa on April 22-14, 2018. Registration for the conference is $20 for advisors and members; $5 for guests.

Heartland Bank donated a quilt designed and sewn by Kelly Black.  Mr. Kevin Black and Tom Halligan represented Heartland Bank during the auction.  Mr. Scott Klingson provided his services to auction the quilt. Mrs. Kristi Castenson and her daughter Morgan purchased the quilt.  Proceeds from the quilt will fund future FFA activities.

The 2017-18 retiring officer team are:  President- Tessa Berg, Somers; Vice President – Morgan Castenson, Harcourt; Secretary-Samantha Alphs, Gowrie; Treasurer-Joel Lambert, Dayton; Reporter-Payton Erritt, Callender; Sentinel-Hannah Rees, Duncombe; Chaplain-Noah Jepsen, Farnhamville; Historian-Cassidy Lambert, Lehigh, Parliamentary-Ben Carlson, Gowrie; and Student Advisor-Chad Stewart, Dayton.

The chapter appreciates all of the support given by parents, school administration and staff, as well as community members and businesses throughout the school year.


Kirk Johnson and Brian Lane of Security Savings Bank recognize Iowa Degree recipients Noah Jepsen and Tessa Berg.

Aimee Jackson and Kristi Peacock received the Honorary Chapter Degree.

Kristi and Morgan Castenson purchased the quilt donated by Heartland Bank with Kevin Black and Tom Halligan present.


Back To Top