Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: Activities > breadcrumbs: Robotics >


Ajax Loading Image


Robotics team competes at State

Print Version

In the picture:    BACK left to right:  Ms. Jaeschke, Ivan Hudson, Malik Brooks, Lucas Samuelson, Jarrett Loseke, Andrew Urelius, Caden Maguire, Ms. Walker
                          FRONT left to right:  Ethan Hampf, Aryan Azim, Izaiah Taylor

The Jag Robotics team competed at the Robotics State Tournament the past Friday and Saturday, Feb. 23rd and 24th at Coralville, Iowa.   Forty-eight teams from around the state were involved from all sizes of schools.  Southeast Valley and Waverly were the only two teams who qualified in their rookie seasons, meaning it was the first year the school has had a program.  After interviews, inspections, and meeting other teams on Friday, the team competed in 6 matches on Saturday morning and early afternoon.  

Although “Steve” the robot worked as expected, there were some tough matches.  In one match, the other robot in the Alliance went out of control, colliding with “Steve” and causing the two to become stuck together.  By the time they could get separated the match was nearly over.  In a later match, the team achieved the best result they have had all season, scoring points during the autonomous rounds and stacking two complete columns during the manual control portion.  The team from Southeast Valley never gave up and throughout the two days they impressed many people.  At the conclusion of the meet, the team earned a trophy in a category called the Judge’s Award.  This is an award that is given to the team that shows extraordinary passion to learning about robotics, and dedication to displaying gracious professionalism is everything they do.  The team had also won this award at the Super Qualifier two weeks before with that set of judges.  This time, however, the team did not place high enough to move on to the next level, which is the Super Regional involving eight states. 

Regardless of the outcome though, the team and coaches feel this team’s accomplishments have far exceeded their expectations.   Their next goal will be to find community service opportunities, and seek out sponsors for next year when a new challenge will be issued.  The team members competing at state were:  Jarrett Loseke, Andrew Urelius, Malik Brooks, Ivan Hudson, Caden Maguire, Aryan Azim, Ethan Hampf, Lucas Samuelson, and Izaiah Taylor.  Other members who couldn’t attend include Parker Johnson and Daven Rees.  The team coaches are Sharon Jaeschke and Devan Walker.

Back To Top